About leaving friends behind

Saying goodbye is hard, what’s worse is when “goodbye” becomes a routine.

Throughout my life I have been moving from one place to another, staying in the lap of nature, away from the city in protected boundaries. Sometimes the place may be among the twisting mountains or at other times inside a greenery filled wildlife sanctuary. If I carry on with my stories of travel, I would have endless of them, something which may seem attractive. Yes, I do have tons of travelling memories and endless experiences of shifting places. You may think I am lucky, but there is something which i loose everytime that I shift to new places ‘FRIENDSHIP.’

It’s really exciting to move around the country and make new friends in different cities, but it’s a lot more painful to leave behind those friends every one or two years. Every time that you shift, you need to start right from the scratch; getting to know people, understanding them, being close to them and leaving them. It’s like a never-ending chain of loss.

While social media and smart phones have bridged the gaps between me and my friends, nothing can ever replace the feeling of being together or of having that human form of contact. No technology can ever replace the sense of security and bond that you feel when you hug your friend. Emoji’s can help you convey emotions, but we can’t make memories out of emoji’s; no emoji can ever tell the amount of happiness you felt when you and your friend won that basketball match or when you together played a prank on other people.

Sometimes when you have friends who stayed in one particular place all their lives and they have ample number of friends with whom they grew up, who realise that you don’t even have one friend with whom you grew up.

Still, it’s this thing about moving around that makes you find friends easily, wherever you go. I don’t cry or repent on my loss,when I leave my friends behind, because I am so used to it that it almost seems normal, its a part of my life and I have accepted it.

8 thoughts on “About leaving friends behind

Add yours

  1. I too was raised in very mobile circumstances and, while I sometimes wonder about the benefits of geographical stability, I have to recognize that I am very independent and quite self-sufficient; I really appreciate friends, and value same, but do not need them in order to be happy and, finally, during my “difficult years” I had no desire for peer approval… which probably kept me out of a lot of trouble. More stability would probably have been nice, but the growing up in a mobile environment had its own set of benefits. Regrets? No. I am very happy with who I am.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Then perhaps people like us should celebrate our constant moving, and acknowledge our resulting independence; our lack of a need for constant peer approval; our self assurance such that we do not have to follow trends for ego support; for our healthy self-esteem, and our sincere appreciation of the few close friends that we do hopefully have! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. While reading this I was feeling sad for you, for I moved some in my life and remembered the hard goodbyes. But when I got to your last words and saw the way you have accepted it I was impressed. Impressed at the positive things you have drawn from your experiences of moving, instead of deciding to be bitter and have regrets. While reading the comments between you and Colin, I realized that you both have definitely made the best out of situations that may not have been ideal.
    Gaining a healthy self esteem and not worrying about peer approval, being self sufficient. All things that can’t be bought. Important lessons to learn in life and I would say you both have done a great job!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

